Facebook users are still unaware that deactivating their Facebook accounts does not mean that their Facebook Messenger is also shut down along with it. The fact remains that you still need to deactivate your Facebook Messenger. Otherwise, People can still contact you.
- Facebook Event: How to Create, Delete and Edit Facebook Event
- How to Advertise Your Businesses on Facebook Pages or Groups
Deactivate Your Facebook Messenger
First thing first, your Facebook account must be deactivated before you can successfully do the same to your Facebook messenger. After you must have done that, this is how you can deactivate your Facebook Messenger temporarily.
- Launch the Messenger app on your device
- Click on your profile picture in the upper-left edge of the page.
- Locate and click on “Legal and Policies.”
- After that, tap Deactivate Messenger.
- Then Provide your password.
- Finally, click on Continue to proceed.
NOTE: There is a difference between deactivating an account and deleting one. When a Facebook account is deactivated or disabled, it can be a temporary situation whereby the user can still get their account working again if they wish to. However, deleting an account permanently gets rid of your information on the platform.
When you successfully deactivate your Facebook Messenger, nobody can get access to or view your profile on the social media app, neither can anyone send you messages through existing conversations with you.
How To Reactivate Facebook Messenger
To reactivate your Facebook Messenger, you can log back into the Messenger app with your username and password. However, this action will also see your main Facebook account back online. But if you want to enable only the Messenger service, then your Facebook account would have to be deactivated again.
You should also take note that deleting your Facebook account totally will see you likewise lose access to the Messenger service as well. Unfortunately, you cannot handle your Messenger app without maintaining an active Facebook profile.